Cleveland City Schools

Every Child, Every Day!

Return to Headlines

Educators Earn Tenure

Cleveland Banner article:,50296


Cleveland Board of Education recognizes group


The Cleveland Board of Education meeting was a celebratory one Monday evening, as a total of 20 teachers were awarded tenure on what had been their first day back to work following winter break.

“Granting tenure is one of the best things a school board has the opportunity to do,” declared Director of Schools Dr. Russell Dyer.

Dyer explained that the process to receive tenure is now a much more difficult one for the teachers than it used to be.

“They have to meet a time requirement, have to be a teacher for five years, meet evaluation standards of fours and fives, which are the two highest for two consecutive years toward the end of that five-year cycle. It’s just a very stringent cycle. It used to be three years of teaching and a recommendation from the principal and you got tenure. Now it’s five years, you must meet a certain benchmark and you must have a recommendation from the principal, superintendent and be voted on by the school board. It is quite a process and is a big deal,” Dyer explained.

The board of education quickly passed the motion approving tenure for the 20 teachers.

Teachers receiving tenure at Monday’s school board meeting were Kayla Akins (Arnold), Grace Avirett (Stuart), Melissa Barnett (CHS), Brandi Beard (Stuart), Dale Brown (Mayfield), Morgan Walker Burke (Mayfield), Caitlyn Cagle (Yates), Cassie Cantrell (Stuart), Joda Clark (Yates), Amanda Diaz (Mayfield), Joshua Foggin (CMS), Eric Frazier (CMS), Maria Hannah (Yates), Luke Medema (CMS), Ashley Pemberton (CMS), Cody Raper (CMS), Emily Raper (CMS), Jeffrey Robinson (CMS), Sarah Smartt (CHS) and Lauren Steward (Mayfield).

In the Director’s Report, Dyer discussed his trip to visit city department heads and commended both the school system’s own maintenance and transportation department as well as the city’s road crews for ensuring that students and teachers were able to make it in to school on Monday with ice posing little to no problem.

Steve Morgan took some time to update the board with the site committee’s work to better word the construction contract for Candy’s Creek Cherokee Elementary School. Morgan proposed that the Request for Quotation committee be comprised of himself, Dyer, Peggy Pesterfield, Paul Ramsey and Hal Taylor. The motion was quickly passed.

Taylor has also been named the official project manager for the new elementary school. According to Pesterfield, there is “nothing to worry about when Hal is in charge.”

The meeting concluded with officer elections for chairman, vice-chairman and chairman pro-tem. Dawn Robinson was nominated by Tom Cloud and unanimously chosen to continue as Board of Education chairman.

“It’s so easy to be the leader of this team,” Robinson declared. “This is a great group of people to work with.”

Carolyn Ingram nominated Pesterfield for vice-chairman and Cloud nominated Charlie Cogdill for chairman pro-tem. Both positions were voted on and accepted.

In other BOE news:

— Andrew Phillips gave a digital transformation update and said that the group will be making a site visit to Spartanburg, S.C., to visit an Apple district. The group is also scheduling more local site visits.

— Cleveland High School Principal Autumn O’Bryan received a certificate from the College Board AP District Honor Roll.

— The next city school board meeting will be held on Feb. 13.